Chief Marilyn Slett Honoured by Canadian Senate

On February 2, K̓áwáziɫ Marilyn Slett was awarded the Senate 150th Anniversary Medal for her tireless work on behalf of the Heiltsuk Nation and other communities throughout the North and Central Coast.

Serving her tenth year and third consecutive term as elected Chief Councillor of the Heiltsuk Tribal Council, Marilyn is President of CFN-GBI and also serves on the Board of Directors of the British Columbia Assembly of First Nations and as Co-Chair of the Wild Salmon Advisory Council to British Columbia.

The award was presented at a ceremony in Burnaby, BC, by Senator Mobina Jaffer, who had met Chief Slett in Ottawa last year at the North Coast Delegation of Hereditary Chiefs, Elected Chief Councillors and Leaders, who had gathered in support of Bill C-48, the Oil Tanker Moratorium Act. At the landmark event, Chief Slett described the importance of a legislative tanker ban for the North and Central Coast, referring to the devastating impacts of the 2016 Nathan E. Stewart spill in Heiltsuk Territory, and urging all Senators in attendance to support the Bill.

“I am humbled to receive the award, I believe in my heart this is for our Haíɫzaqv Nation,” said Chief Slett. “It is our collective strength and perseverance that is recognized and uplifted. The work I do is with the strong mandate and carried with the courage and resilience of our people.”

From the Advisory Working Group on the Senate 150th Anniversary Medal: “The medals are being awarded to Canadians or permanent residents actively involved in their communities who, through generosity, dedication, volunteerism and hard work, make their hometowns, communities, regions, provinces or territories a better place to live.”